Brittany Lavery – Harlequin

 

BrittanyLaveryHarlequinBrittany Lavery, Assistant Editor, HQN Books and Graydon House

 

I started my publishing career in 2009 with an internship at The Cooke Agency and moved on to positions at the University of Toronto Press and Penguin Canada, joining Harlequin in 2015. When I don’t have my nose in a book, you can find me watching X-Files reruns, running around the soccer field or discussing the finer points of baseball and cheering on my beloved Toronto Blue Jays.

 

My personal taste in acquisitions lends itself to three main areas, and if I see these kinds of stories on submission, I’ll drop everything and dive right in. I love snappy, fresh, funny, contemporary voices with relatable protagonists for a younger generation—a female protagonist who is relatably screwed up, in the vein of Amy Schumer or Kristen Wiig’s irreverent comedy. I also love sprawling family sagas with love stories woven through, like a Penmarric for a new generation, or even something spooky and atmospheric like Rebecca—the story of a deliciously unhinged relationship. My other definite bias is toward the speculative, the truly unconventional love story—for example, The Time-Traveler’s Wife or Never Let Me Go.

Pitch will be read: June 15, 2017

Pitching Guidelines can be found HERE.

Please post your Pitch in the Comments section below in this format:

TITLE:
GENRE:
WORD COUNT:
AUTHOR:

PITCH (under 200 words):

Post Your Pitch

Powered by Netfirms